Stay Warm! Fox Racing Cold-Weather MTB Gear Review

Stay Warm! Fox Racing Cold-Weather MTB Gear Review

It’s cold outside but you’re still jonesing to mountain bike. In this video, take a look at three pieces of @foxracing gear that can make chilly temps more tolerable on your next winter ride. We’re joined by @The Outsider MTB for some fast laps between snow storms at Skypark Bike Park (1:20), an overview of the gear (5:46), and a thorough report of his findings after three months of use (8:00).

Designed to be layered or worn on its own in moderate temps and dry conditions, the Defend Thermo Jersey is all about cool weather versatility. It was paired with the Flexair Pant and Defend Pro Fire Glove for this review.

Defend Thermo Hooded Jersey
– Polartec Power Grid provides lightweight, moisture-wicking insulation 
– Abrasion-resistant, wind-blocking fabric helps keep you warm while descending
– Form-fitting hood fits underneath your helmet
– Zippered stash pocket on the hip keeps your stuff in place
– Fabric: Polartec Power Grid – 93% polyester / 7% spandex
– MSRP: $149.95

Flexair Pant
– Ratchet closure provides a secure fit and quick on-the-fly adjustments
– Secure zip hand pockets
– Tapered lower leg reduces snag and drag
– TruMotion all-way stretch fabric for increased mobility
– TruDri fabrics move sweat away from the body to keep you dry
– Body-mapping laser perforated on front & back to keep you cool
– Durable Water Resistant finish sheds moisture, dirt, & debris
– Fabric: 88% polyamide nylon / 12% elastane
– MSRP: $139.95

Defend Pro Fire Glove
– Axe Suede slim fleece waterproof palm to keep your hands dry and warm
– Durable Water Repellent finish sheds moisture, dirt, and debris
– Longer compression molded cuff for a secure fit that keeps the elements out
– Conductive thread at index finger and thumb for touchscreen compatibility
– 3 Layer softshell fabric to protect against the toughest elements
– MSRP: $69.95

Hit up https://www.foxracing.com/adaptation for more details on their foul-weather mountain bike gear.

18 Comments

  1. d0mm3y1 on December 4, 2020 at 9:20 pm

    May i ask what you wore underneath the thermal jersey? Or did you directly wore it on the skin?



  2. Kit McLean on December 4, 2020 at 9:23 pm

    Stay warm in Feb, move to the Southern Hemisphere!



  3. Giraffe on December 4, 2020 at 9:31 pm

    This is the perfect video. 😂 Good way to review n’ ride. Skypark is the bomb!!!



  4. Music on December 4, 2020 at 9:32 pm

    Vital MTB



  5. MTB ALAN on December 4, 2020 at 9:37 pm

    I dunno who this random guy is, but I can vouch for the fact that he’s been wearing those pants every time I’ve ridden with him since he got them. Rad review, Tony + Vital!



  6. Ace Hardy on December 4, 2020 at 9:39 pm

    📝



  7. Brian Vaughn on December 4, 2020 at 9:44 pm

    I think my entire winter riding kit is less than the pair of those Fox pants. It’s crazy how expensive winter mtb gear is when you really don’t need mtb specific winter gear.



  8. userbosco on December 4, 2020 at 9:44 pm

    What a great review, didn’t bore the shit out of me :-] That puppy is a keeper!



  9. sloth on December 4, 2020 at 9:50 pm

    This was an interesting review. I was interested in all the Fox gear but was particularly interested in the Fox Defender gloves but I wasn’t sure if they’d be warm enough. Glad to know they were actually too warm for you because I plan on riding in extremely cold conditions, so they might be perfect for me.



  10. EarlW22 on December 4, 2020 at 9:53 pm

    Pants and trail recommendation in the same vid? I’ve hit gold.



  11. Nyles ledwith on December 4, 2020 at 9:56 pm

    I’m giving away a jersey when I get 100 subs



  12. JogBird on December 4, 2020 at 10:04 pm

    is that a trek fuel ex in the back?



  13. The Outsider MTB on December 4, 2020 at 10:07 pm

    Had a blast making this one and happy to answer any further questions. Cheers! 👊



  14. Cristóbal Muñoz on December 4, 2020 at 10:08 pm

    A good yuor video guy of the test of the so trial bike nice jueg of the rop fox resistent a temperatures extremes a the cold and hot and water. Esperams ests prends in my paid guy’s of the VITAL MTB 🗣️yyyaaa ojal a good precious for thes tierrs. from the Santig of Chile https://www.foxracing.com/adaption 🇨🇱🤘😀🤘💯



  15. paul on December 4, 2020 at 10:09 pm

    What’s the main difference between the flex air and defend pants?



  16. Clayton Shank on December 4, 2020 at 10:12 pm

    The Skyrim reference is gold!



  17. Andrea Giassi on December 4, 2020 at 10:13 pm

    Hi, what is your size for Fox defend thermo? how tall are you? Thanks



  18. Mark Kligerman on December 4, 2020 at 10:13 pm

    Bought the hoody and the gloves based on your recommendation. Would have bought the pants but can’t locate them in stock. Bought Specialized Demo Pro pants. Thanks for the awesome review.