Reviewing 5 popular, high end MTB helmets for 2023

Reviewing 5 popular, high end MTB helmets for 2023

Learn more about these helmets- and TONS more- over at Jenson USA through my link here: https://bit.ly/Helmets2023JKW Anything you purchase from that link, or any of the additional, below links, at Jenson USA will also help support my channel- thanks in advance!

Bikes in this video:
https://bit.ly/IbisRipmoatJensonUSAjkw
https://bit.ly/RockyMountainPowerPlayatJensonUSAjkw
https://bit.ly/OrbeaRiseatJensonUSAjkw
https://bit.ly/Knolly2023JKW

HUGE thanks to Industry Nine for all their support!!! I am still riding these amazing Enduro 315 Carbon wheels to this day. Check out the wheels thru this link over to the I9 page at Jenson USA: https://bit.ly/IndustryNine2022JKW (anything you purchase there will help support my channel)

A big thanks to PNW Components for their support in 2022! Check out the PNW cockpit items here: https://bit.ly/PNWComponents2022JKW

Did you know I post a new riding tutorial every month? These are ONLY posted to my Patreon page, so join now to see these rad videos! Here’s the full list of my riding tutorials posted through November 2022:

50 Tips to be a Better Mountain Biker: https://www.patreon.com/posts/50-tips-to-be-75352100
How to land jumps: https://www.patreon.com/posts/how-to-land-74063598
How to ride steep trails: https://www.patreon.com/posts/how-to-ride-72705363
How to sprint without pedaling: https://www.patreon.com/posts/how-to-sprint-71580461
How to ride flat corners: https://www.patreon.com/posts/how-to-ride-flat-68552084
How to jump found gaps: https://www.patreon.com/posts/67255256
How to stoppie turn: https://www.patreon.com/posts/65842496
How to drop: https://www.patreon.com/posts/64552391
How to LEAN in corners: https://www.patreon.com/posts/how-to-lean-in-63176556
How to Ride Light on the Bike: https://www.patreon.com/posts/how-to-ride-on-61941975
Riding technique differences between hardtails and full suspension: https://www.patreon.com/posts/60435182
How to rut track: https://www.patreon.com/posts/59366938
5 tips to make flat trails more fun: https://www.patreon.com/posts/58058983
5 tips to improve bike control and balance: https://www.patreon.com/posts/56839920
How to levitate out of corners: https://www.patreon.com/posts/55607066
Three simple cornering tips: https://www.patreon.com/posts/54371316
How (and when) to rock roll or drop: https://www.patreon.com/posts/53126562
How to jump with fluidity- and not DEAD SAILER! https://www.patreon.com/posts/51914476
How to Lanual: https://www.patreon.com/posts/50695443
How to climb ledges without a bunny hop: https://www.patreon.com/posts/49476021
Which brake to use when: https://www.patreon.com/posts/which-brake-to-48108425
Different bikes, different riding techniques: https://www.patreon.com/posts/46925782
How to ride FLAT PEDALS through the ROCKS: https://www.patreon.com/posts/how-to-ride-flat-45662347
How to ride wet roots and steep chutes: https://www.patreon.com/posts/44507851
How to ride with style: https://www.patreon.com/posts/how-to-ride-with-43349450
How to jump for height vs distance: https://www.patreon.com/posts/42202183
Common manual questions answered: https://www.patreon.com/posts/41006264
How to land jumps: https://www.patreon.com/posts/39928153
My 3 favorite skills drills: https://www.patreon.com/posts/if-i-could-only-38809964
How to manual: https://www.patreon.com/posts/how-to-manual-37684861
Cutty: https://www.patreon.com/posts/36579859
Manual a berm: https://www.patreon.com/posts/35496772
How to ride in Sedona: https://www.patreon.com/posts/34436065
Switchbacks: https://www.patreon.com/posts/3-ways-to-33345804
Nosewheelie: https://www.patreon.com/posts/32742504
Bump jump: https://www.patreon.com/posts/31881231
Trials basics for trail riders: https://www.patreon.com/posts/31145344
Tight berms: https://www.patreon.com/posts/30389457
Aggressive braking: https://www.patreon.com/posts/29579507
Confidence for mountain biking: https://www.patreon.com/posts/28817411
Cornering: https://www.patreon.com/posts/27981205
Flowing/pumping down the trail: https://www.patreon.com/posts/27288868
Stoppie through turns: https://www.patreon.com/posts/26296762
Technical climbing: https://www.patreon.com/posts/25234847
Boost jumps: https://www.patreon.com/posts/24161821
Bunnyhop: https://www.patreon.com/posts/23396959
Utilizing the wheelie on the trail: https://www.patreon.com/posts/23017910
How to wheelie: https://www.patreon.com/posts/21879606

50 Comments

  1. biketothetop on January 26, 2023 at 3:32 am

    Motorcycle helmets are better🤣 …nice work though👍

  2. Stephen on January 26, 2023 at 3:33 am

    The into was excellent!

  3. Johannes Nilsen on January 26, 2023 at 3:34 am

    I use currently use a Leatt 1.0 DH, it’s quite light full face helmet, price is decent, too, but a con is the pads come loose as the Velcro pads come loose, but I added 3m HVB tape I cut to fit, it solves the issue, but eventually wears out, so other than that, no complaints. It has a mesh, so no insects come in, maybe just tiny flies, but no way a bee a bigger flies will get in, also leafs, twigs.
    The helmet’s chin guard is not as stiff as my previous helmet 2016 Fox Rampage Pro Carbon, which was quite heavy too at around 1100 gram I think it was, the Leatt helmet is around 560g in Large , around 1500g with Diablo light, goggles, Gopro Hero 7 Black. so not bad, it feels a lot lighter, but I got used to the heavier helmet, so this feels nice.
    Cheek pads did not compress permanently, so the helmet fits as it did when it was new. Some claim the current Fox Rampage Pro Carbon does not have the issue with the cheek pads, but I know 2016 had it.

  4. Jeff Rogers on January 26, 2023 at 3:35 am

    Is there a trend towards shorter visors? Some of those helmets look like they barely have one.

  5. Kakusei on January 26, 2023 at 3:36 am

    Ion traze is a great helmet

  6. J Kansas on January 26, 2023 at 3:38 am

    Yo. What knee pads you use

  7. Fango925 on January 26, 2023 at 3:38 am

    I’m a switchblade fan! I run it without the bar as a makeshift tyrant for most riding, and with a bar for more aggressive stuff. I find that it’s a bit hot in the summer, but I live in Minnesota, so from October – April, the extra warmth is invited. I even run it fatbiking as it keeps my ears nice and warm!

  8. Bill Williams on January 26, 2023 at 3:38 am

    Curious why you didn’t check out the #1 helmet on the VT List – The Specialized Tactic 4, just to see how it stacks up with the ones you did use and to see if the sizing issue with the Fox Helmet would impact your own test of it.

  9. MB Rides on January 26, 2023 at 3:42 am

    I use a Oakley DR5 for trail which has 2 features I’m not sure I can live without at this point…sweat diversion and a sunglass holder on top. I know, dumb…but they’re invaluable and make it easier to ride.

  10. Scat Silvurz on January 26, 2023 at 3:42 am

    Koroid venting is never in line with the direction of airflow…..

  11. William on January 26, 2023 at 3:42 am

    Favorite is my fox ProFrame

  12. Adrian Cesana on January 26, 2023 at 3:43 am

    Whatever helmet I always ad a Sweat Buster, always makes helmet more comfortable and unbeatable sweat absorption. 👍

  13. AZMTB on January 26, 2023 at 3:44 am

    Another note on POC – I have the Tectal Race MIPS because they’re meant more for people with blockier heads, whereas the Kortal is for "rounder" heads. I tried both on at a LBS and there was a pretty big difference in fit. I have a big noggin, so it was hard finding a helmet that fit well and the Tectal is perfect for me (in the biggest size they make). I don’t have any issue with there being no padding in the back, I wear it for hours without any discomfort.

  14. Mario Bros2 on January 26, 2023 at 3:46 am

    The smith mainline is a great helmet, but my head was slightly too big for the small size and too small for medium. So I ended up with a trajecta helmet instead because it fits perfectly. I hope smith will run their small helmets up to 56cm in the future.

  15. Test on January 26, 2023 at 3:46 am

    The creaking of the mainline is terrible!

  16. Alex Clark on January 26, 2023 at 3:48 am

    I find all the MIPS helmets I’ve tried feel like they sit on top of head and not around it. POC Tectal Race Spin without the MIPS feels like my head sits inside helmet and fits great.

  17. Dan O on January 26, 2023 at 3:57 am

    The worst part of helmets is having to buy a new expensive helmet when you crash! I fell on my head 2 months ago and fractured my back now I have to buy another helmet! Better than brain surgery though!

  18. Nick Zarnetske on January 26, 2023 at 3:58 am

    There was a great podcast with Worldwide Cyclery and one of the big guys from Kali. It’s worth a listen for sure. I have a Kali Maya from your videos years ago and still prefer it over a few others I’ve tried since (one being a POC). I’m in the market again and the Maya is looking like the next choice I make.

  19. Urayamu on January 26, 2023 at 4:00 am

    Cool in depth review as usual Jeff. I wonder if Virginia Tech is now using new headforms with materials mimicking skin and hair (nylon and wigs, like the scientists from a scientific paper from 2022 did), since a discussion was brought up into the industry that current "tacky" headforms used by Virginia Tech are favouring MIPS helmets (even if the technology HAS a benefit, but just not that big) because tests don’t reflect the natural lateral play effect that occurs between hair, skin and cranium.

  20. jckgoldness on January 26, 2023 at 4:02 am

    Dude I love my Smith Engage but the same thing happens to me with the brow pad filling up with sweat. Also the padding tends to delaminate from the hook and loop system rendering it useless after a short while of use.

  21. Gregory Ceconi on January 26, 2023 at 4:03 am

    Nice video Jeff. No Troy Lee helmets???

  22. Leo Colquhoun on January 26, 2023 at 4:03 am

    the smith forefront 2 is 50% off right now, (it’s very good)

  23. Patrick Glenn on January 26, 2023 at 4:06 am

    I tried one smith helmet and couldn’t stand it. The mips made it feel like it was always sliding around. I went back to a Troy Lee A2. Best helmet I’ve ever used!

  24. Cory McManues on January 26, 2023 at 4:07 am

    This review was good for me, gonna pick up a new helmet this year. I too have knocked my head into a concussion a couple times so I’ve been looking at different helmets. Glad to hear that the Giro is your go to and comfy since that’s the one I’ve really been leaning towards.

  25. Jonny Snakes on January 26, 2023 at 4:07 am

    Ive been loving my o’neal pike 2.0 ipx trail lid and ixs trigger ff for the dh bike.
    The ixs is really light and airy and find myself grabbing it half the time for the more gnarly rides on an ebike

  26. manjushri on January 26, 2023 at 4:07 am

    It seems like MIPS probably a gimmick. Most non MIPS helmet liners/ insert will also move a little bit rotationally upon impact? It seems this extra cost and benefit is theoretical at best and without it the helmets generally weigh less. Edit: That said I have a Giro Manifest Spherical with MIPS. Can’t hurt.

  27. Jeff Kendall-Weed on January 26, 2023 at 4:08 am

    Learn more about these helmets- and TONS more- over at Jenson USA through my link here: https://bit.ly/Helmets2023JKW

  28. Miguel Ortiz on January 26, 2023 at 4:09 am

    I wish I would’ve seen this video before the helmet I just bought. It’s a POC Tectal (olive matte). I haven’t ridden with it yet but it fits pretty good. I chose by looks. Next helmet I buy will be given more thought and research seeing as though it’s thee most important equipment to invest in. Thanks for the vid JKW! HAPPY NEW YEAR!

  29. Chris Capoccia on January 26, 2023 at 4:10 am

    That was a serious head smack into a tree. I don’t think any of these helmets would have been capable of preventing a concussion, but probably any of them would have prevented a split skull

  30. Peter DeMos on January 26, 2023 at 4:11 am

    I like my Mainline but agree that the noise it almost unbareable. Have to wear earbuds and tunes otherwise I don’t use it.

  31. MonsterChuck on January 26, 2023 at 4:12 am

    Giro Manifest for trail riding and Bell Full 9 for DH. Comfort is paramount and I had ordered tons of the top brands in multiple sizes sometimes while testing fit (POC, Fox, TLD, Specialized, Bell, Giro).

  32. HUKIT on January 26, 2023 at 4:12 am

    Since a concussion and a broken eye socket I’ve completely ditched the half shell so it’s either the TLD Stage or D4 Carbon at the park.

  33. Jeffrey C on January 26, 2023 at 4:14 am

    I’m rocking the smith forefront 2 for gravel/xc and the ixs trigger ff for enduro or park duty. So far it’s the best combo I’ve found

  34. HughHefferino on January 26, 2023 at 4:14 am

    Try out the Fox Speedframe Pro. Good coverage, great build quality, fidlock, a long visor, and did well in the Virginia Tech rankings. Should be right up your alley.

  35. GF on January 26, 2023 at 4:14 am

    Fox Dropframe/Proframe combo for me.

  36. Scythe on January 26, 2023 at 4:15 am

    I do really like my Smith Forefront 2, but it can have the same issue as the Session with the sweat eventually coming down my face and into my eyes at times. it doesn’t happen often, but man does it suck when it does.

  37. Charlie Cannon on January 26, 2023 at 4:15 am

    Hahahahah does it look like a session??? Jeff’s got jokes! Best mountain bike content producer on YouTube. I have no doubt about it.

  38. Jan Svoboda on January 26, 2023 at 4:16 am

    Always full face i survive only becasue i wear 500+ dollar full face helmet.

  39. Tom walling on January 26, 2023 at 4:19 am

    Leatt helmets fit my narrow but long head best, very comfortable. After 25 years I finally have a helmet that doesn’t leave a big dent in my forehead.

  40. Ryan McLaughlin on January 26, 2023 at 4:20 am

    I also have a giro shaped head! I use the insurgent, the switchblade when it’s cold enough, but I fount the specialized tactic to be easily the most comfortable helmet! It also has a great spot for glasses!

  41. Billyboy on January 26, 2023 at 4:22 am

    After landing on my head in an MTB crash on a local trail, I went shopping for a new helmet at my local bike shop. I ended up with the POC Tectal for three reasons over other available helmets: fit, coverage and the buckling system. Not everyone’s head is shaped the same, so fit is a pretty personal issue. For me, the POC Tectal fit very securely and comfortably. I also liked the greater amount of coverage afforded by the Tectal. The tectal extended further down the back of my head, which I feel not only provides better protection but helped the overall fitment for this particular model. Finally, I really like how the buckling system adjusts. Most MTB helmet straps are – at least for me – very difficult to adjust to the point where the strap keeps the helmet in just the right position on my head. The POC Tectal is somewhat unique, I think, in that it uses two independent loops extending from the sides of the helmet which are connected by a center strap that includes the buckle. The center strap floats on the two side side loops so that it automatically centers under the chin in just the right place. All of this – the fit, coverage and buckling system – adds up to a safer helmet, I think, at least for me. I also like the Tectal’s visor – it extends far enough that it actually is useful for blocking out the sun and/or limbs, etc. The Tectal is not the perfect helmet, though. I have some doubts about whether the padding is really the best, and, in fact, the padding started coming loose not long after I bought the helmet. Thanks, ya’ll. Be safe out there . . .

  42. SnakeY on January 26, 2023 at 4:22 am

    The Fox drop frame fits me personally better than the Giro Tyrant, which I had the opportunity to try through my friends, size M was too small for me, size L was too big. I have Fox drop frame in size L, my head circumference is 58 cm. A friend warned me that with helmets from Fox, you have to be careful about the difference between speed frame and drop frame, there is a difference in sizes. Personally, the speed frame (M) does not fit well on my head and presses on my sides immediately after putting it on my head, size L is too big for me. With the Drop frame, I don’t have this problem with pressure on the sides of the head.
    I wear the helmet even in the summer and at temperatures of 35 degrees Celsius without any problems. I’m lucky that I almost don’t sweat on my head at all.
    I would definitely like the possibility of even thicker padding on the drop frame, since the helmet is looser in certain places than I would have imagined. Alternatively, it would need a size adjustment system like the Giro has.

  43. Kenneth & Bia on January 26, 2023 at 4:22 am

    POC and MIPS worked together to develop the technology. I’m a safety engineer. Been riding for over 20+ years and the POC is the safest half shell I’ve ever used. Haven’t looked into the new POC helmets.

  44. James Gurney on January 26, 2023 at 4:22 am

    Jeff, have you ever tried the TLD A3? I have a big and apparently odd shaped head so just finding a helmet that fits comfortably is a challenge for me, the TLD A3 fits great and seems to have all the safety do-dads.

  45. touggesurf on January 26, 2023 at 4:23 am

    I bought the giro tyrant because of you last year and i couldn’t be happier, that said why not make a similiar video on knee pads? I’ve been riding for almost 3 years and still haven’t gotten around to buying some and i’m starting to see the benefit of it. I’m sure there are more people like me who would be interested.

  46. Sebastian Luptak on January 26, 2023 at 4:26 am

    Again nice video but. For me I love my tld a1 half shell but if I can choose only one helmet for me it would be my ixs trigger ff super ventilation and comfort(for my head shape). I really recomend to try this brand.

  47. Tim Jacobs on January 26, 2023 at 4:27 am

    Your editing game has significantly jumped! As much as your mtb jumping

  48. George Choo on January 26, 2023 at 4:29 am

    Bruh, that tree hug was not a concussion. It was you punching a hole in the fabric of the space and time continuum you were in. Welcome to our universe, you weirdo…

  49. Johannes Nilsen on January 26, 2023 at 4:29 am

    A lot of helmets don’t have a insect/debris mesh, it actually is helpful to have it, less debris, at least bigger stuff does not get in the helmet, potentially leading to discomfort.
    So I always bought helmets with a mesh.

  50. Rommel Gallego on January 26, 2023 at 4:30 am

    I got the Giro Switchblade and I still love it.

Leave a Comment