Butterfly Handlebar Review | Trekking Handlebar Experience After 7,500 KM of Bicycle Touring

Butterfly Handlebar Review | Trekking Handlebar Experience After 7,500 KM of Bicycle Touring

Article : http://cycletraveloverload.com/trekking-bars-butterfly-handlebars-review-my-experience-after-5000-km/
Get A FREE Book & Cycle Travel Updates! : https://bit.ly/2m7h8IQ
Visit my BLOG for more information : http://cycletraveloverload.com/

SUPPORT ME ON PATREON : https://www.patreon.com/codeyorgill
Watch the rest of my AUSTRALIA ADVENTURES! : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p0UOe…

MY BIKE TOUR GEAR (2018) : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NaMRN…
GEAR / Products
Butterfly Handlebars : https://bit.ly/2HAezZf
Bike : https://bit.ly/2WdDRj8
Shop Wiggle : https://bit.ly/2Wc8t4D
Rear Derailleur : https://amzn.to/2ukD3x3
Gear Shifters / Break Levers : https://amzn.to/2umPcSm
Saddle Bag (for tools) : https://amzn.to/2FiEnWn
Multi-Tool : https://amzn.to/2ToUSFe
Hand Pump : https://amzn.to/2Hyht0I
Handlebar Bag : https://amzn.to/2FlG4SK
Portable Phone Charger : https://amzn.to/2Ctc8ni
Headlamp : https://amzn.to/2CuHidO
Tent : https://bit.ly/2OjTpzo
Yoga Mat (aka sleeping pad)
Travel Pillow : https://bit.ly/2HyyCr4
Cycling Shorts : https://amzn.to/2YcUSvN
Sleeping Bag : https://bit.ly/2W7MnQS
Panniers : https://amzn.to/2ulp5eq
Camp Stove : https://amzn.to/2Tihrvm
Tyres : https://amzn.to/2ukjAfW
Day Backpack : https://bit.ly/2Oh8cdX
GoPro : https://amzn.to/2YbEVWM
Selfie Stick : https://amzn.to/2TiuAER
MacBook : https://amzn.to/2uhR6DC
Storage Hard Drive : https://amzn.to/2FumDrl
Main Camera : https://amzn.to/2Y6cUjc
MY DRONE : https://click.dji.com/AOWgS6_fzwQnp1e…

Previous Content Playlists
Cycling across USA : https://goo.gl/wD25uG
Japan Bicycle Tour Vlogs : https://goo.gl/WcPeBu
Tasmania Adventures : https://goo.gl/jXDK15

37 Comments

  1. azwan gomok on June 22, 2022 at 10:16 pm

    The one you’re holding, what’s the size?

  2. HUBBA ABBA on June 22, 2022 at 10:16 pm

    Hello amazing Vid. Keep Up the great Work

  3. Laju Bae on June 22, 2022 at 10:18 pm

    hallo … i have polygon xtrada 6, can I aplicated it ?

  4. Back to life on June 22, 2022 at 10:22 pm

    good review of the type

  5. Swapnil Thakur on June 22, 2022 at 10:22 pm

    Thanx since long I was looking for a bar you made things clear to me
    Thanx

  6. JR Namida on June 22, 2022 at 10:23 pm

    Do they come in different widths?

  7. smitajky on June 22, 2022 at 10:25 pm

    I have done 200,000km with bars like this. But ALWAYS the other way around. What he would consider "upside down". It gives far better angles for the wrists on the front position. There is a specific angle which gives a low riding position (aero) on the front position and which gives four points of contact taking all effort from the wrists. I should make a video of how mine are set up and why. But it gives extremely solid control on rough surfaces. Control, comfort and aero. It annoys me to hear someone who is missing almost all the benefits of these bars.

  8. donald walter on June 22, 2022 at 10:28 pm

    I had a set of these installed on one of my foldable bikes and it worked well until I started carrying front panniers. I immediately started to loose front steering stability so I switched to a Jones H-bar and that worked perfectly. I think due to a shorter wheel base the trekking bar was not the right bar choice for that bike but I am going to switch my drop bars on a gravel bike to the trekking bar. The additional length of the frame should help in my front wheel stability.
    One big problem I suffer from drop bars is neck pain from air flowing down my back neck while riding, with a trekking bar I hope to alleviate this problem.

  9. Dracut Wilmington Roslindale on June 22, 2022 at 10:28 pm

    Thanks. Old guy here, i think a set of these will keep me riding another 20 years. I hope. And yeah $30 is fine even if i dont like them.

  10. victor acuna on June 22, 2022 at 10:28 pm

    Awesome information 👍

  11. donald walter on June 22, 2022 at 10:29 pm

    I’ve seen a number riders switch the direction of the open end so it faces out making the brake and shifters out front. I tried that and it worked well but as a result prohibited me installing a front handle bar bag.
    In Europe nearly all trekking bars I saw were installed vertically in a very upright position!

  12. Friar Rodney Burnap on June 22, 2022 at 10:31 pm

    How can you mount Stem bags on Butterfly Handlebars?

  13. Ben Smith on June 22, 2022 at 10:31 pm

    *Butterfly bars not being aero enough?* They are aero bars in disguise!

    1. Mount them relatively flat so that the front is only slightly higher than the rear.
    2. Hold onto the front loops while resting your arms next to your brake levers and shifters on the rear bars. The longer the distance between the front and rear bars, the more comfortable the position will be.
    3. Make your best time trial impression.

    Sadly, this new-found aero position comes at a cost:

    1. Depending on the shape of your bar, this will make the bar-ends position flatter and less comfortable for one’s wrists unless riding out of the saddle.
    2. You lose the super upright front position. However, I wouldn’t be surprised if most riders didn’t use the front position all that much if the bar is mounted as intended making said position sky-high. The braking position is often already quite upright.

    Even when lowered, the front position can also be used as a stretched-out position with extended arms (without hunching down).

    As you said, some models are more curved. Some have a sharp angle in the "bar-ends" part. Example:

    https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Mountain-bike-handlebars-31-8-620mm-aluminum-road-bike-handlebars-rest-long-distance-bicycle-handlebars/32954578247.html

    These could be mounted… upside down! Looked at from the side, their shape would look somewhat like this:

    */*

    1. Your braking position would be similar.
    2. The bar-ends position would still point upwards and be suitable for climbing, leverage and comfort.
    3. The part where the "bar-ends" go down due to the angle… no idea what to do with it. Mount a bell?
    4. The aero position slightly higher than the braking position. Hunch down or stretch out.

    When such a bar is mounted "correctly" but flat, the shape would be like this:

    */*

    1. Again, similar braking position.
    2. The part where the "bar-ends" go down… This time mounting a bell or such could interfere with the actual bar-ends position.
    3. The bar-ends position is now lower than the braking position. Look, we have drops!
    4. The aero position is again slightly higher than the braking position. Hunch down or stretch out.

    Depending on the bar’s shape, one could also try switching front and back… maybe in addition to mounting it upside down.

    As for your other points of criticism:

    * Search for "hornbar". These might have less flex in the braking position as they are clamped next to your levers. Also, hornbars won’t shorten the reach, so you might not need a longer stem.
    * Some hornbars and butterfly/trekking bars are wider than the one you have, which is 57 cm. The distance between the brake levers would be slightly longer.
    * No cure for their ugliness, I’m afraid. Just kidding, they look beautiful.

    Then there are bullhorn bars with bar-ends mounted pointing horizontally inwards… Now, we are talking ugly. But you would have your brake levers on the side. Here’s a picture near the end:

    http://www.bicycle-touring-guide.com/bicycle-handlebars/

    *Tl;dr: Butterfly bars are aero bars in disguise.*

  14. Innocentius Lacrim on June 22, 2022 at 10:31 pm

    This is a great honest review of this bartype. I agree on the dorky look 😀 I used to have those on my MTB that I converted to cruiser/commuter and they surely looked weird. Going forwards if I put similar bars back on, I would like to have them a bit wider to allow my hands to be a bit more apart when on the brakes&shifters and maybe I could experiment with some more brake and shifter positions altogether. Regardless of that, I am now considering again putting those bars on another bike. There is something very good about them also.

  15. T C on June 22, 2022 at 10:34 pm

    Have you ridden a trike? Or toured with one?

  16. malicalik 13 on June 22, 2022 at 10:35 pm

    I want to get a gravel bike but can’t afford it rn, seems like these will be a perfect way to get my xc more suited to road

  17. Clay on June 22, 2022 at 10:39 pm

    I don’t mean to sound impolite but if comfort is the consideration then less is usually more. Just because there is space on your bike doesn’t mean you need to put an accessory on it. Minus the pizza rack, you’re pretty maxed out man, and you had contemplated relocating break levers for your “butterfly bars” (which don’t make much sense in the first place)? Just… No.

  18. Midnight Mozes on June 22, 2022 at 10:39 pm

    test the Alee Denham bars please. Thinking this might be the best for multiple hand positions.

  19. Roman Schol on June 22, 2022 at 10:40 pm

    Doesnt it flex badly? In uphill as example..

  20. Sérgio Loureiro on June 22, 2022 at 10:41 pm

    There are butterfly bars which are not ugly! In some old Koga Miyata bicycles, you can see them. Here are some examples:
    https://www.google.com/search?q=koga butterfly&tbm=isch&tbs=rimg%3ACeBW9GlVgo63YYEBHWK1MY02

  21. mokadir amer on June 22, 2022 at 10:46 pm

    what is the best angle to install let say 0°……+-1-2 degree

  22. xiong cam on June 22, 2022 at 10:46 pm

    I think these bars look great…just put one on my hybrid bike. I wanted a road bike but with the many hand positions I don’t feel the need for that road bike anymore.

  23. T C on June 22, 2022 at 10:48 pm

    If you like these better than drop bars then why did you take them off?

  24. Strato tex on June 22, 2022 at 10:50 pm

    LO QUIERO LO QUIERO LO QUIERO LO QUIERO LO QUIERO LO QUIERO LO QUIERO LO QUIERO LO QUIERO LO QUIERO LO QUIERO LO QUIERO LO QUIERO LO QUIERO LO QUIERO LO QUIERO LO QUIERO LO QUIERO LO QUIERO LO QUIERO LO QUIERO LO QUIERO LO QUIERO LO QUIERO LO QUIERO

  25. Aurimas M Jablonskis on June 22, 2022 at 10:52 pm

    Heavy and looking stupid

  26. PrimaryHades on June 22, 2022 at 10:54 pm

    Cheers bro, just ordered them.

  27. Justine Mark Dajay on June 22, 2022 at 10:56 pm

    Hey dude. If you don’t mind me asking, i intended on using a longer bike stem with a high rise instead of adding in a steering tube extension. Would it work?

  28. Joshua on June 22, 2022 at 10:56 pm

    Excellent video. Following.

  29. Christopher Claudio Skierka on June 22, 2022 at 10:56 pm

    Hi there, I was wondering about these bars, good video. Just wondering but for long tours what tyres do you use?

  30. Kara Marie on June 22, 2022 at 10:58 pm

    Thanks for a great video. I just subscribed!

  31. Truer words have never been spoken, My Princess! on June 22, 2022 at 11:01 pm

    It looks like goat horns

  32. Corey Solomon on June 22, 2022 at 11:03 pm

    Is there a video how to replace

  33. Marcos on June 22, 2022 at 11:04 pm

    Great video, thanks!

  34. Jeany Luisa on June 22, 2022 at 11:12 pm

    Not sure, if the position furthest away from the brakes is really the best for going downhill.

  35. Brian Murphy on June 22, 2022 at 11:13 pm

    Might have been a good idea to review theses bars on the bike it would lend more interest than just weaving them around in your hands just saying

  36. Suzanne Ralph on June 22, 2022 at 11:14 pm

    I found trekking handlebars for $15.99 and foam grips for both sides of the bars for $7.99 on Amazon. BTW, another bike pro says the brake levers should be further outwards for steadiness when riding.

  37. Brian Tyhy on June 22, 2022 at 11:14 pm

    Right on buddy. I used the butterfly bars on my tour through Sri Lanka

Leave a Comment