5 Downhill Bikes Reviewed – Vital MTB Test Sessions

5 Downhill Bikes Reviewed – Vital MTB Test Sessions

Vital MTB testers and former professional DH racers, Jason Schroeder and Sean McClendon, tested and reviewed five downhill bikes over the summer, and now it’s time to see how they stack up against each other. We rode the trails at The Basin Gravity Park and Tamarack Resort in Idaho. #MTB #downhill #DH

Video Contents
0:00 – Introduction
1:54 – Scott Gambler
5:00 – Pivot Phoenix
9:54 – Trek Session
15:24 – Canyon Sender
19:59 – YT TUES

In-depth reviews of each downhill bike
$6,999 Pivot Phoenix Review – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4mBAjSRVpFM
$4,999 Trek Session Review – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AO70YdWzAAk
$3,399 Canyon Sender Review – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4XCuEuIh1TE

$3,499 YT TUES Review – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CyvBfOX58N8

50 Comments

  1. C J on July 25, 2022 at 10:53 pm

    I find your lack of Commencal Supreme DH disturbing



  2. ЯЖĒ on July 25, 2022 at 10:53 pm

    Why is there no Commencal?



  3. Noah Leather on July 25, 2022 at 10:55 pm

    They didn’t include the Commencal Supreme because it would be an easy win😉



  4. Rhett Corbett on July 25, 2022 at 10:57 pm

    No Santa Cruz V10 CC ????? WTF



  5. Xiavier on July 25, 2022 at 10:58 pm

    I hate to be negative, but this video was dense. It was like eating an overcooked steak. Yeah the nutrition was there, but it was hard to get through, and didn’t taste quite as good.



  6. Matthew_dag on July 25, 2022 at 11:00 pm

    460 reach, 435 chainstays on a L dh bike???



  7. Sean Leader on July 25, 2022 at 11:00 pm

    Cool stuff dudes. Well put together. Need more of this on the tube!



  8. Alex von Mentzer on July 25, 2022 at 11:01 pm

    While saying that the chainstay protector on the pivot was noisy you can clearly see that the cluch on the Zee is off……



  9. willdicker616 on July 25, 2022 at 11:02 pm

    Tues is goat



  10. MTB Ville on July 25, 2022 at 11:05 pm

    They are all sick 🔥🤘



  11. killalltires on July 25, 2022 at 11:06 pm

    bike shops refusing to service consumer direct bikes? didn’t expect that to be a problem



  12. scheme90 on July 25, 2022 at 11:07 pm

    7000$ Middle Class DH Bike 🤭🤣🤣



  13. Razias Razias on July 25, 2022 at 11:08 pm

    Other bikes to test:
    -the new Gamux high pivot
    -antidote darkmatter
    -vitus dh (nice affordable bike)
    -polygon (that weird bike)
    -kona operator



  14. Andrew Ince on July 25, 2022 at 11:14 pm

    From Rampage and other freeride events, the YT Tues looks to be the favoured freerider.



  15. _whotookthese on July 25, 2022 at 11:16 pm

    Commencal ?



  16. Ray Soares on July 25, 2022 at 11:17 pm

    Why have DH bikes not got similar or longer reach lengths than enduro / trail bikes. They generally seem to have a 20mm shorter reach than enduro bikes…



  17. Alejandro Arranz Lasso on July 25, 2022 at 11:18 pm

    that canyon is basically the same you tested a few years back, I think you should have gone for the 29er



  18. Daniel Galbraith on July 25, 2022 at 11:18 pm

    If you haven’t already figured out the headset issue on the Canyon Sender 6, let me enlighten you. My brother purchased the bike earlier this year and for the first few rides experienced a lose and creaky headset. We retightened the headset as well as greased. The problem became acutely evident several rides later at the bike park as one of the PLASTIC headset spacers exploded. Take all the plastic headset spacers out and replace with aluminum or carbon and the stock headset is fine. I also double checked the Across headset on my Canyon 360 and sure enough they were plastic as well.



  19. NM Nate on July 25, 2022 at 11:18 pm

    Wait, they’re still using zee brakes on bikes? I couldn’t get a replacement lever assembly (stripped out the master cylinder)…had to upgrade to saint levers. I thought they were end-of-life?



  20. holybun on July 25, 2022 at 11:19 pm

    they all look nice but that yt is killing me, it looks sick af



  21. Zach Echols MTB on July 25, 2022 at 11:19 pm

    This is perfect for me I was looking to buy a dh bike



  22. Russell Allen on July 25, 2022 at 11:25 pm

    Absolutely loved watching summer of downhill guys! Great to see such an in depth review of these downhill bikes, Your reviews really helped my decision on my new DH bike, so thank you.



  23. alien gearhead on July 25, 2022 at 11:26 pm

    no santa cruz v10 😔



  24. Youth In Asia on July 25, 2022 at 11:27 pm

    How is the new Scott 910? Would you chose a trek over a Scott?



  25. simonExplorer on July 25, 2022 at 11:28 pm

    the number of downhill bikes reviewed is too damn low!



  26. Ben Wilson on July 25, 2022 at 11:28 pm

    V10?



  27. Hilla085 on July 25, 2022 at 11:29 pm

    Lets be honest. The real difference between all these bikes is the suspension (setup)… like in motocross!



  28. Teddy Parker on July 25, 2022 at 11:29 pm

    Meh. That’s X-Fusion for ya. Shame because the bike is great but Scott’s spec price points are stifling. Gonna be hard to afford that chair lift season pass after that lol



  29. Trail Tasters on July 25, 2022 at 11:29 pm

    Hey, could u do a test on a commencal bike??



  30. MaddogDHraw on July 25, 2022 at 11:31 pm

    I’ve had the most fun ever this season on that YT Comp. I’m more than pleased with my decision and have 0 regrets. The bike is an absolute performer as stated in the Vital review. I’m 6’ and ride an XL



  31. Vital MTB on July 25, 2022 at 11:31 pm

    Video Contents
    0:00 – Introduction
    1:54 – Scott Gambler
    5:00 – Pivot Phoenix
    9:54 – Trek Session
    15:24 – Canyon Sender
    19:59 – YT TUES

    In-depth reviews of each downhill bike
    $6,999 Pivot Phoenix – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4mBAjSRVpFM
    $4,999 Trek Session – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AO70YdWzAAk
    $3,399 Canyon Sender – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4XCuEuIh1TE
    $3,499 YT TUES – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CyvBfOX58N8



  32. santi santi on July 25, 2022 at 11:34 pm

    Can you bring more bikes? I like these vibes



  33. maSSimo on July 25, 2022 at 11:37 pm

    The Santa Cruz V10 was the best bike



  34. Antoine DB on July 25, 2022 at 11:39 pm

    Would love to see a review of the commencal supreme dh



  35. LeadMunitions on July 25, 2022 at 11:39 pm

    Can someone please go work for Trek, that is able to come up paint job that people can get excited about!!



  36. BikeSense on July 25, 2022 at 11:40 pm

    Where’s the V10?



  37. Lee Holden on July 25, 2022 at 11:41 pm

    There are only one or two bikes you will ever need for a downhil bike



  38. WillKill 1979 on July 25, 2022 at 11:41 pm

    Can I buy the scott bike from u guys?



  39. hegyimutymuty on July 25, 2022 at 11:44 pm

    DUDE are you kidding me? you buy a new-ish scott, and it is immediatelly obsolete, you can’t buy anything for it???? this is stupid…i was able to buy stuff for my 8 years old Ghost(although not easily).
    This is outrageous that you buy a bike this expensive, and they throw out support so soon…



  40. Fortunate Son on July 25, 2022 at 11:45 pm

    Won’t have my new bike for a few weeks and I’ve been killing myself binge watching MTB content if all kinds.



  41. McSenderson on July 25, 2022 at 11:45 pm

    I really love these tests. They’re so honest, straight forward, and informative. Some of the best reviews out there.



  42. Hendrik Piepke on July 25, 2022 at 11:45 pm

    the new propain rage would be nice



  43. S Min on July 25, 2022 at 11:46 pm

    every time i watch bike reviews, I realize how useless they are



  44. arsku. on July 25, 2022 at 11:47 pm

    Hi! I’m thinking your opinions about propain rage, at 4k price, so how well that would compete against canyon sender 6 or yt tues base. I haven’t seen many reviews of the rage, like what kind of bike it is and where it is at home.



  45. YourMagicalFather on July 25, 2022 at 11:47 pm

    Comparing low end gambler930 with shitty x fusion blown shock to pivot race ready bike and many other thats kinda dumb, but anyway good video



  46. Hasan İlgaz on July 25, 2022 at 11:47 pm

    I need great recommendations from you guys, please help me for my Scott Gambler 930 update!
    I wanna do some theme with gold and black,
    My idea is;
    Nobl wheel set wit industry nine hydra hub
    10 speed sram cassette and groupset
    Öhlins rear suspension
    TRP or Magura break system
    So, did I doing wrong with that cost of parts or you can recommend another?



  47. حمد المري on July 25, 2022 at 11:48 pm

    Pivot 😍



  48. Onsight Records. on July 25, 2022 at 11:48 pm

    So many Brands coming black alloy frames…few years ago they were selling carbon and carbon again…even Bruni or Aaron gwin are developping alloy frames from si many reasons like ride tolérance. So for most common and regular riders they are toi stiff. Without speaking the Cost of production in taiwainese Factory.



  49. Alex Simansons on July 25, 2022 at 11:49 pm

    Just get a YT Capra Pro… 180mm travel is PLENTY to smash park laps. And it climbs fantastic



  50. Sam Davison-Wall on July 25, 2022 at 11:49 pm

    Good review. Aside from the Pivot, a bit of an entry level DH bike review. I suppose that makes it a bit more relevant really as lots high end DH bikes are probably only attainable with some level of shop/sponsor support, so that’d probably be a big factor in the choice of bike.